The overall objective of the new apprenticeships standards is to ensure that apprenticeships are truly employer led. Standards are therefore designed by employers (Trailblazer groups) to meet their needs, the needs of their sector and the economy more widely.

Guidance around the development of the standards specifies that they need to be short, easy to understand documents that describe the knowledge, skills and behaviours required to undertake a specific occupation well, and to operate confidently within a sector.

The new standards focus on how an apprentice should demonstrate mastery of an occupation, and meet professional registration requirements in sectors where these exist.

The approved standard therefore is a concisely written document that outlines the skills, knowledge and behaviours required of the apprentice and the job they need to be able to do by the time they have completed their apprenticeship.

The Level 3 Water Process Technician Apprenticeship has 5 different pathways:

  • Water Treatment Technician
  • Waste Water Treatment Technician
  • Water Networks Technician

          - Network Technician

          - Leakage Technician

  • Wastewater (Sewerage) Network Technician

All new standard apprenticeships are subject to an independent End Point Assessment process which includes:

  • Portfolio Assessment - the completion of a portfolio of evidence and trade tests (70%)
  • Knowledge Assessment - a multiple choice question knowledge test (30%)